Nine Faculty Members Selected for Prestigious 2018-19 University Awards

Vice President and Provost Dr. Gail F. Baker announced nine faculty members who will receive top USD honors at the 2018-19 Fall Convocation.Vice President and Provost Dr. Gail F. Baker announced nine faculty members who will receive top USD honors at the 2018-19 Fall Convocation.

Nine University of San Diego faculty members — three each from the School of Law and the College of Arts and Sciences (CAS), two from the School of Business and one from the Hahn School of Nursing and Health Science — have been named to top university awards for 2018-19, Vice President and Provost Gail F. Baker, PhD, announced Thursday.

Five professors — Roy Brooks, JD, (Law), Joseph Burkard, DNSc, (Nursing), Thomas Reifer, PhD (CAS-Sociology), Lori Watson, PhD (CAS-Philosophy) and Carsten Zimmerman, PhD, (Business) — were selected for a University Professorship. This award is given to those who’ve demonstrated outstanding scholarly achievements in teaching and research supporting the mission and goals of USD. A University Professorship is the highest individual award that can be bestowed to a USD faculty member.

Two professors, Rangapriya Kannan-Narasimhan, PhD, (Business) and Karen Teel, PhD, (CAS-Theology and Religious Studies), have been chosen as recipients of the Clarence L. Steber Professorship. The Steber Professorship recognizes substantial contributions in the areas of teaching, research and service. This award, made possible through a gift by Clarence L. Steber, is limited, by the intent of the donor, to faculty recipients in Theology and Religious Studies and the School of Business.

Two awards — the Herzog Endowed Scholar and the Class of 1975 Endowed Professor — are limited to eligible School of Law professors. Dov Fox, DPhil, JD, will receive the Herzog Scholar recognition while Orly Lobel, SJD, is the Class of 1975 Endowed Professor recipient. The Herzog Endowed Scholar Award recognizes the meritorious teaching and scholarly productivity of a professor in the School of Law. The Class of 1975 Endowed Professorship, established by the Class of 1975 as its 25-year reunion gift to the Law School, recognizes meritorious teaching, leadership, and academic accomplishments of a School of Law professor.

“We can all take great pride and joy in the contributions of these nine faculty to their disciplines and to the University of San Diego, and we are delighted their outstanding achievements are being recognized with these prestigious awards,” Baker said.

The nine faculty members will be formally bestowed their award at the USD Fall Convocation, attended by faculty and staff, on Friday, Sept. 7, 2018.

— USD News Center


Contact Us

Phone: (619) 260-4527

View Directory

83° 61°

Visit Campus

Warren Hall, Room 201
5998 Alcalá Park
San Diego, CA 92110