USD School of Law Hosts Third Annual Student Leadership Breakfast

Student Leadership Award Winners

San Diego (April 29, 2014) - The Student Bar Association (SBA) and the Office for Law Student Affairs at the University of San Diego (USD) School of Law hosted the third annual Student Leadership Breakfast on Saturday, April 26, 2014 at USD’s La Gran Terraza. 

The breakfast honors the many student leaders and student organizations who work tirelessly for their school, their community and their law student colleagues. Dean Stephen Ferruolo provided welcoming remarks to the group of more than 90 students.

Deputy District Attorney at the San Diego District Attorney's office, Dan Link, '00 (JD), provided the keynote address on the value of leadership. He emphasized the positive impact that leadership can have on not only the legal community, but on the larger community as well.

Irene Condella, director for Law Student Affairs, presented two students with a USD Enhancement Award. This annual award is given to students who go above and beyond what is expected of them to improve and enrich the USD law community. The recipients exemplify leadership and are innovative in their methods to involve other law students and the larger San Diego community.

This year’s recipients were: Jon Jekel, president of the Intellectual Property Law Association (IPLA), for his creative vision and role in fostering leadership within the organization; and Julie Hunter, an officer and president of several student organizations and editor-in-chief of the San Diego International Law Journal, for her valuable and energetic leadership and involvement in the law school.

The outgoing SBA President Michelle Silva presented the new SBA Executive Board officers for 2014-15: President, Erin Osmak; Vice President, Kelly Smith; Vice President of Student Organizations, U. Sean Maneewongwathana; Secretary, Caitlin Ryan; Treasurer, Jason Avelar.

Outgoing SBA Vice President for Student Organizations Ernie Chen presented the award for Student Organization of the Year to the Employment and Labor Law Society, which was accepted by their president, David Greco, and vice president, Paloma Morena Acosta. In just its first year at USD, the Employment and Labor Law Society hosted multiple attorney panels on various topics and worked with other student organizations to plan events. Also present at the breakfast was the Employment and Labor Law Society’s faculty advisor Professor Orly Lobel.

About the University of San Diego School of Law

Celebrating 60 years of alumni success, the University of San Diego (USD) School of Law is recognized for the excellence of its faculty, depth of its curriculum, and strength of its clinical programs. Each year, USD educates approximately 900 Juris Doctor and graduate law students from throughout the United States and around the world. The law school is best known for its offerings in the areas of business and corporate law, constitutional law, intellectual property, international and comparative law, public interest and taxation.

USD School of Law is one of the 81 law schools elected to the Order of the Coif, a national honor society for law school graduates. The law school’s faculty is a strong group of outstanding scholars and teachers with national and international reputations and currently ranks 23rd worldwide in all-time faculty downloads on the Social Sciences Research Network (SSRN). The school is accredited by the American Bar Association and is a member of the Association of American Law Schools. Founded in 1954, the law school is part of the University of San Diego, a private, nonprofit, independent, Roman Catholic university chartered in 1949.


Office for Law Student Affairs
(619) 260-4651


Contact Us

Phone: (619) 260-4527

View Directory

83° 61°

Visit Campus

Warren Hall, Room 201
5998 Alcalá Park
San Diego, CA 92110