Hon. Robert J. Trentacosta '79 (JD) Receives 2013 Witkin Judicial Service Award

San Diego (March 7, 2013) - Robert J. Trentacosta, ’79, the presiding judge of the San Diego Superior Court who is guiding the court through its most difficult period in its history, received the San Diego Law Library Foundation's 2013 Bernard E. Witkin, Esq. Judicial Service Award.

Additional Witkin Award honorees included:

Service to Education
Professor Emeritus C. Hugh Friedman (to be awarded posthumously)

Public Service
Matthew C. Hervey, Esq.
Advisor to the Hervey Family Fund at the San Diego Foundation

Legal Professional
Robert G. Steiner, Esq.
Senior Counsel, McKenna, Long & Aldrege LLP

About the University of San Diego School of Law

Recognized for the excellence of its faculty, curriculum and clinical programs, the University of San Diego (USD) School of Law enrolls approximately 900 Juris Doctor and graduate law students from throughout the United States and around the world. The law school is best known for its offerings in the areas of business and corporate law, constitutional law, intellectual property, international and comparative law, public interest and taxation.

USD School of Law is one of the 81 law schools elected to the Order of the Coif, a national honor society for law school graduates. The law school’s faculty is a strong group of outstanding scholars and teachers with national and international reputations and currently ranks 23rd worldwide in all-time faculty downloads on the Social Sciences Research Network (SSRN). The school is accredited by the American Bar Association and is a member of the Association of American Law Schools. Founded in 1954, the law school is part of the University of San Diego, a private, nonprofit, independent, Roman Catholic university chartered in 1949.


Contact Us

Phone: (619) 260-4527

View Directory

83° 61°

Visit Campus

Warren Hall, Room 201
5998 Alcalá Park
San Diego, CA 92110