USD Alumnus Former Justice Michael Streit, '75, Among Courage Award Recipients

Boston (April 18, 2012) - University of San Diego (USD) School of Law Alumnus and former Iowa Supreme Court Justice Michael Streit, '75, was part of a unanimous decision to legalize same-sex marriage in Iowa, has been named one of this year’s recipients of the John F. Kennedy Profile in Courage Award™.  

Presented by the John F. Kennedy Library Foundation, this award is presented to public servants who have made courageous decisions of conscience without regard for the personal or professional consequences.

Former Iowa Chief Justice Marsha Ternus and former justices David Baker were also chosen in recognition of the political courage and judicial independence that each demonstrated in setting aside popular opinion to uphold the basic freedoms and security guaranteed to all citizens under the Iowa constitution. The John F. Kennedy Profile in Courage Award™ will be presented by Caroline Kennedy at a ceremony at the John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum in Boston on Monday, May 7.

Read the full news release on

About the University of San Diego School of Law

Recognized for the excellence of its faculty, curriculum and clinical programs, the University of San Diego (USD) School of Law enrolls approximately 900 Juris Doctor and graduate law students from throughout the United States and around the world. The law school is best known for its offerings in the areas of business and corporate law, constitutional law, intellectual property, international and comparative law, public interest and taxation.

USD School of Law is one of the 81 law schools elected to the Order of the Coif, a national honor society for law school graduates. The law school’s faculty is a strong group of outstanding scholars and teachers with national and international reputations and currently ranks 23rd worldwide in all-time faculty downloads on the Social Sciences Research Network (SSRN). The school is accredited by the American Bar Association and is a member of the Association of American Law Schools. Founded in 1954, the law school is part of the University of San Diego, a private, nonprofit, independent, Roman Catholic university chartered in 1949.


Contact Us

Phone: (619) 260-4527

View Directory

83° 61°

Visit Campus

Warren Hall, Room 201
5998 Alcalá Park
San Diego, CA 92110