Eleven USD Faculty Members Recognized at Convocation Ceremonies

Nine USD faculty members were feted at the annual Faculty and Administrators Fall Convocation. on Sept. 8, 2017.Nine USD faculty members were feted at the annual Faculty and Administrators Fall Convocation. on Sept. 8, 2017.

University of San Diego faculty members from the School of Business, School of Law, College of Arts and Sciences, School of Leadership and Education Sciences and the Shiley-Marcos School of Engineering received special awards at multiple on-campus convocation events during the first week of the 2017 fall semester last week.

On Friday, Sept. 8, the annual USD Fall Convocation event for faculty and administrators, celebrated and recognized nine faculty members for four award designations. New Vice President and Provost, Gail F. Baker, announced the recipients.

Five faculty received a University Professorship, the highest-honored faculty award offered by the university. University Professors are those who’ve demonstrated outstanding scholarly achievements in teaching and research supporting the mission and goals of USD.

The 2017-18 University Professorships went to Professor and USD graduate alumnus Craig Barkacs, JD-MBA, (School of Business); Warren Distinguished Professor of Law Larry Alexander, JD (School of Law); Theology of Religious Studies Professor Orlando Espin, ThD, (College of Arts and Sciences); Ann Garland, PhD, professor and department chair of Marital and Family Therapy (School of Leadership and Education Sciences); and Political Science and International Relations Professor Vidya Nadkarni, PhD, (College of Arts and Sciences).

Clarence L. Steber Professorships went to two faculty members — one in Theology and Religious Studies and the other in the School of Business per the stated intent of the donor — Professor Evelyn Kirkley, PhD, (THRS) and Economics Professor Steven Sumner, PhD, (School of Business). The award promotes the professional development of the faculty members honored.

Two female School of Law faculty received the Herzog Endowed Scholar and the Class of 1975 Endowed Professorship, respectively.

Professor of Law Miranda Perry Fleischer, JD, LLM, who teaches and writes in the areas of individual taxation, federal estate and gift tax and tax-exempt organizations, was named the Herzog Endowed Scholar. Winners of this honor are recognized for their meritorious performance in teaching or scholarly publication of faculty of the School of Law.

Professor of Law Lisa Ramsey, JD, was the recipient of the USD Law Class of 1975 Endowed Professorship. She teaches and writes in the areas of trademark law, intellectual property and international intellectual property. This special honor was created when USD’s law class of 1975 made this gift at its 25-year reunion. Each year’s law professor recipient is recognized for their meritorious teaching, leadership and academic accomplishments.

Two USD LLC Faculty Members Honored

On Sept. 5, during the New Student Orientation event at Ole! Weekend, Rico Monge, PhD, an assistant professor in Theology and Religious Studies, and Susan Lord, PhD, chair of General Engineering and professor of Electrical Engineering in the Shiley-Marcos School of Engineering, each received recognition for their outstanding involvement as both teachers and advisors within USD’s Living Learning Communities.

Monge is a faculty member in the new Innovate LLC, while Lord is a faculty member for the Illuminate LLC.