Former Iowa Supreme Court Justice Michael Streit '75 (JD) to Deliver 2013 Commencement Address

Hon. Michael Streit '75 (JD)

SAN DIEGO (May 14, 2013) – The University of San Diego (USD) School of Law will confer 380 law degrees on Saturday, May 18, 2013 beginning at 8:45 a.m. at the university’s Jenny Craig Pavilion.  The Honorable Michael J. Streit, former justice of the Iowa Supreme Court and USD School of Law Class of 1975 (JD), will address law school graduates.

USD Law Commencement

Saturday, May 18, 2013
9:00 a.m., procession begins at 8:45 a.m.
Jenny Craig Pavilion, University of San Diego campus of Linda Vista Rd.

Quick Facts

  • The 2013 Law School Commencement marks the university’s 56th conferral of law degrees.
  • Juris Doctor (JD) graduates – 317
  • Masters of Law (LLM) graduates – 63
  • Former Iowa Supreme Court Justice and USD School of Law Alumnus Michael J. Streit, USD School of Law Class of 1975, will deliver the commencement address.

Media parking is available in the parking lot next to the Jenny Craig Pavilion where the ceremony will take place.

About a Few of Our Law School Graduates

Raul Macias – While still attending USD School of Law, Macias was hired by the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) for a voters’ rights project, an extremely rare and coveted position.  The ACLU liked what they saw and hired him for a post-bar staff lobbyist/attorney position. Prior to law school, Macias was a lobbyist in Sacramento for California Advocates for Nursing Home Reform and a research assistant at the California Budget Project. He is also currently working to earn a master’s degree in public policy and administration from Sacramento State University.

Rosibel Mancillas Lopez – Lopez was awarded an Equal Justice Works fellowship, one of the highest public interest fellowships in the country. Lopez is the first USD law student since 2008 to be awarded this national honor. Lopez will be doing her fellowship at the San Diego Legal Aid Society’s Immigration Law Project.  While an undergraduate at USD and throughout much of law school, Lopez worked in the college’s University Ministry department as an executive assistant and volunteered throughout San Diego on immigration law matters with the Legal Aid Society and other organizations.

Sharai Elko – Elko will enter the U.S. Navy’s Judge Advocate General (JAG) training program after the bar exam. She graduated from George Washington University and went on to accept a Fullbright Scholar position in France. Elko earned a master’s degree from the London School of Economics and then worked for the U.S. Department of Homeland Security as a consultant in Washington, D.C. 

Sarah Belvill – Belvill won USD’s 2013 Paul A. McClennon Honors Moot Court Competition and won or placed high in more than six national moot court competitions in 2012-13.  She served multiple times as a judicial extern for judges in San Diego and in Washington, her home state.  Belvill recently argued before the U.S. Court of Appeals Ninth Circuit on an immigration matter as a part of USD’s Appellate Clinic.

John George – Since transferring from the University of San Francisco School of Law, George has not moved from the number one spot in the class.  He externed for the Honorable Marilyn Huff, Federal District Court Judge for the Southern District of California, and the Honorable Margaret McKeown, Circuit Judge for the U.S. Court of Appeals Ninth Circuit. George will serve as a law clerk to Judge Huff beginning in 2014. In the meantime, he will work at Robbins Geller in San Diego as a securities lawyer.  Prior to law school, he worked for nearly five years as a bicycle mechanic in bike shops in St. Louis and San Francisco.

About the Commencement Speaker

For more than 27 years, Justice Michael J. Streit served the people of Iowa, first as a trial court judge and then as a Supreme Court Justice. He was assistant Lucas County attorney and then Lucas County attorney before being appointed as a district court judge in 1983 and to the Iowa Court of Appeals in 1996. Governor Tom Vilsack appointed Streit to the Iowa Supreme Court in 2001.
In May 2012, Caroline Kennedy presented Justice Streit and two fellow justices with the John F. Kennedy Profile in Courage Award at the John F. Kennedy Library Foundation. The award is presented to public servants who have made courageous decisions of conscience without regard for the personal or professional consequences.

Streit served on the Drake University Law School Board of Counselors, STOP Violence Against Woman Coordinating Council, Iowa Supreme Court Select Committee on Child Welfare, and the Judicial Evaluation and Performance Committee. Streit also chaired the Iowa Supreme Court Education Advisory Committee and the New Judge Training and Mentor Program. Furthering his efforts to improve the court system and educate the public on the important role the courts play in the lives of every citizen, he initiated the Iowa Judicial Institute in 1992.

Justice Streit is a member of Ahlers & Cooney in its litigation, dispute resolution and investigations practice areas, where he is involved with complex mediation, arbitrations and appeals. He received a BA degree in economics from the University of Iowa in 1972 and a Juris Doctor degree from the University of San Diego in 1975.

About the University of San Diego School of Law

Recognized for the excellence of its faculty, curriculum and clinical programs, the University of San Diego (USD) School of Law enrolls approximately 900 JD and graduate students from around the United States and throughout the world. The law school is best known for its offerings in the areas of tax, intellectual property, international law, public interest, and business and corporate law.

USD School of Law is one of the 81 law schools elected to the Order of the Coif, a national honor society for law school graduates. The school is accredited by the American Bar Association and is a member of the Association of American Law Schools. Founded in 1954, the law school is part of the University of San Diego, a private, nonprofit, independent, Roman Catholic university chartered in 1949.