Dee Aker Joins Women's Hall of Fame

Thursday, March 27, 2014

U-T San Diego -- They have dedicated themselves to everything from promoting peace abroad to strengthening community services in Barrio Logan. On Friday, five local women will be honored for their contributions by being inducted into the San Diego County Women's Hall of Fame.

"Their lifetime work and achievements have improved the lives of many and have left a lasting impact," said Ashley Gardner, executive director of the Women’s Museum of California. "They are the unsung heroes of our time, whose stories can be inspiring to all of us."

Diane Lee (Dee) Aker is being recognized in the Trailblazer category.  She is currently the interim director of the Joan B. Kroc Institute for Peace and Justice at the University of San Diego and the founder of the Women Peacemakers, WorldLink and Nepal Peacebuilding Initiative programs. (Full Story)

San Diego County Women's Hall of Fame

When: 5-8 p.m. Friday, March 28, 2014

Where: McMillin Conference Center, 2875 Dewey Road, NTC Liberty Station

Tickets: $75 ($45 for limited income), $150 VIP; (619) 233-7963 or the Women's Museum of California's website


Melissa Olesen
(619) 260-4659

Contact Us Email

Phone: (619) 260-4600
Fax: (619) 260-4162

Visit Campus Map

Founders Hall
5998 Alcalá Park
San Diego, CA 92110