USD Students Hold Democratic Election in Political Science Honors Society

Wednesday, November 28, 2012

Flexing their democratic muscles, the National Political Science Honor Society on campus, Pi Sigma Alpha, held elections Tuesday, November 27. The organization experienced some uncertain times after last USD’s May graduation left five empty officer seats to fill and dwindling membership. Undaunted, returning members Cynthia Villacis and Yajaira Hernandez worked tirelessly to recruit and prepare new members for the year. With the encouragement of former members and new advisor and Professor in the Department of Political Science, Dr. Avi Spiegel, eight leaders were elected to the executive board.

Bringing their experience with the organization, Vallacis and Hernandez will co-chair the presidency aided by Vice President Alexandra Medrano. Bridget Laroche joins the team as Treasurer and newly elected Secretary Jorge Benavides will represent the organization in ICC meetings. Also new to the board, Jennifer MacConaghy and Amanda Adams will take on the role of Public Relations co-chairs.

In addition to these positions, returning members Villacis and Hernandez motioned to add Community Service and Outreach Officer to the Constitution in the meeting prior to elections. The motion unanimously passed and set the tone for this year’s activities: community service and involvement. Kara Waters will set the standard as the first USD Community Service and Outreach Officer.

Spring recruitment for Pi Sigma Alpha begins in January.

For more information about membership requirements and the organization, visit the PSA Facebook page at

Contact Us Email

Phone: (619) 260-4600
Fax: (619) 260-4162

Visit Campus Map

Founders Hall
5998 Alcalá Park
San Diego, CA 92110