Jericho Brown Receives Prestigious Whiting Writers' Award

Wednesday, October 28, 2009

Jericho Brown, Ph.D. received a 2009 Whiting Writers’ Award on October 28 in New York City. Brown is one of ten young writers to receive the $50,000 award in 2009, which recognizes young writers for extraordinary talent and potential.

The Mrs. Giles Whiting Foundation, founded in 1985, supports the humanities and creative writing through the support of seven graduate humanities programs and the Writers’ Awards, given to ten writers annually. The Writers’ Awards support new writers in fiction, non-fiction, poetry and play writing. National nominees are selected early in their careers based on their talent and promise and evaluated by a selection committee of recognized writers, literary scholars and editors to determine the ten awardees. Previous recipients include bestselling authors: Michael Cunningham, Kim Edwards, Tobias Wolff, Jeffrey Eugenides and Mary Karr.

Brown received the Whiting Writers’ Award during a year of accolades and accomplishments for his poetry. Currently working on his next book at the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study at Harvard University as a prestigious Bunting Fellow, Brown’s debut book of poetry, Please, also received the 2009 American Book Award from the Before Columbus Foundation.  His book has been widely received in literary and academic circles. 

Contact Us Email

Phone: (619) 260-4600
Fax: (619) 260-4162

Visit Campus Map

Founders Hall
5998 Alcalá Park
San Diego, CA 92110