Inside USD

2014-15 USD Professor Award Honorees Named

Monday, February 17, 2014

University of San Diego Mary E. Lyons, PhD, announced nine in-house honors for university faculty effective the academic year 2014-15.

Earning the prestigious University Professorship are Sociology Department Chair and Professor Michelle Camacho (pictured, left) and Chemistry Professor Peter Iovine from the College of Arts and Sciences; Real Estate Professor Norm Miller from the School of Business Administration; Learning and Teaching Department Associate Professor Noriyuki Inoue (pictured, right) from the School of Leadership and Education Sciences; and Law Professor Steven Smith from the USD School of Law. Each recipient of the University Professorshi is recognized for outstanding scholarly achievements in teaching and research. The award is the highest academic honor bestowed university-wide.

Two faculty members, one from the School of Business Administration and another from CAS’ Theology and Religious Studies Department, are the recipients of the Steber Professorships. The winners of this award, which is limited to these two academic areas per the request of the donor, Clarence L. Steber, are Professor of Finance Shreesh Deshpande and, pictured at right, Associate Professor of Theology and Religious Studies Mary Doak. This award recognizes substantial contributions in the areas of teaching, research, and service.

Two additional awards announced are specific to USD’s School of Law — the Herzog Endowed Scholar and the Class of 1975 Endowed Professor.

Law Professor Jordan Barry, pictured at left, is the Herzog Endowed Scholar award winner. This accolade recognizes the meritorious teaching and scholarly productivity of a USD law professor. Professor Lynne Dallas is this year’s recipient of the Class of 1975 Endowed Professorship, which was established by the Class of 1975 as its 25-year reunion gift to the Law School. This award recognizes meritorious teaching, leadership, and academic accomplishments for a USD law professor.

“We can all take great pride and joy in the contributions of these nine faculty to their disciplines and to the University of San Diego, and we are delighted their outstanding achievements are being recognized with these prestigious awards,” Lyons said.

These awards will be formally bestowed to each individual at the annual USD Fall Convocation on Sept. 12, 2014 in the Joan B. Kroc Institute for Peace and Justice Theatre.

— Inside USD

  • Share/Bookmark