Inside USD

USD’s Women of Impact Honored

Tuesday, December 18, 2012

“A Woman of Impact lives the core values of the University of San Diego. She encourages new ways of thinking and working within the community. She contributes to the holistic development of her fellow community members.” — USD Women’s Center

The 15th USD Women of Impact luncheon, hosted by the Women’s Center on Dec. 7 in Hahn University Center, Forum C, celebrated 52 students, faculty, staff and administrators who were nominated by their campus peers.

The 2012 Woman of Impact award winners (pictured, left to right) — Ella Guimond (student), Lisa Nunn (faculty), Denise Dimon (administrator) and Kim Heinle (staff) — brings the honoree total to 49 since this event started in 1997.

The Women of Impact luncheon included a video tribute, a keynote address by the 2011 Woman of Impact student honoree Eirene Rocha, who is a USD senior International Relations major and Ethnic Studies minor, and a reflection by College of Arts and Sciences Associate Dean Carole Huston, PhD, about the late Linda A.M. Perry, professor emeritus of Communication Studies and co-creator of the Gender Studies program at USD.

Here is the list of the 52 nominees for the Women of Impact awards in each category:

Students: Rubina Bhatti, Sophia Carrillo, Danielle Chung, Emily Cunningham, Kerri Englert, Rebecca Garcia-Rangel, Olivia Glazner, Ella Guimond, Laura Hamister, Yajaira Hernandez-Trejo, Audrey Johnson, Cynthia Kane, Kayla Kawile, Leslie Kehl, Kimberly LaSalle, Alison Mackey, Alex Medrano, Lauren Ortiz, Lea Park-Kim, Marissa Pledger, Elizabeth Pun, Danielle Sather, Miranda Stratton, Maria Trias, Frankie Victoria and Stacey Williams.

Staff: Jessica Bonin, Celina Chavira, Mari Hardick, Kim Heinle, Lynn Hijar, Terri Miller, Grace Pousson and Manda Sayegh.

Faculty: Cynthia Caywood, Crystal Dujowich, Mary Hotz, Lisa Nunn and Gail Perez.

Administrators: Shelley Barajas-Leyva, Mary Boyd, Elizabeth Coyle, Denise Dimon, Jennifer Freeman, Diana Kutlow, Ilana Lopez, Erin Lovette-Colyer, Kara Marsh Proffitt, Rebecca Samson, Linda Scales and Sandra Sgoutas-Emch.

— Inside USD

  • Share/Bookmark