Inside USD

Nine Faculty Members Bestowed Top Honors

Monday, January 30, 2012

Nine faculty members, including three from the School of Law and three within the College of Arts and Sciences, were announced as recipients of top university awards for 2012-13 by University of San Diego President Mary E. Lyons on Monday.

Five University Professorships, the highest academic honor bestowed university-wide and given in recognition of outstanding scholarly achievements in teaching and research, were among the awards announced.

This year’s recipients are: Can Bilsel (pictured, top right), Professor and Department Chair, Art and Director of Architecture Program, College of Arts and Sciences; Tammy Dwyer, Chemistry and Biochemistry Professor, CAS; Stephen Conroy, Economics Professor, School of Business Administration (SBA); Fred Galloway, Higher Education Leadership, Leadership Studies, Doctoral Associate Professor, School of Leadership and Education Sciences (SOLES); and Orly Lobel (pictured, top left), Herzog Endowed Scholar and Professor, School of Law.

Two faculty members, Associate Professor Bahar Davary in CAS’ Department of Theology and Religious Studies and SBA Professor of Management and team leader, Johanna Hunsaker (pictured, bottom right), will receive the Steber Professorship. This honor recognizes substantial contributions in the areas of teaching, research and service. It is also limited, by the intent of the donor, Clarence L. Steber, to faculty in the School of Business Administration and Department of Theology and Religious Studies.

Two additional honors, both specific to the School of Law, were Professor Ted Sichelman (pictured, left) earning the Herzog Endowed Scholar Award and Professor Herbert Lazerow being recognized as the Class of 1975 Endowed Professor.

The Herzog Endowed Scholar award recognizes the meritorious teaching and scholarly productivity of the selected law professor. The Class of 1975 Endowed Professorship, established by the Class of 1975 as its 25-year reunion gift to the law school, recognizes meritorious teaching, leadership, and academic accomplishments of a USD law professor.

“We can all take great pride and joy in the contributions of these nine faculty to their disciplines and to the University of San Diego, and we are delighted their outstanding achievements are being recognized with these prestigious awards,” Lyons said in a statement.

The faculty honorees will be formally recognized at the annual USD Fall Convocation on Sept. 14, 2012.

— Inside USD staff

  • Share/Bookmark