Inside USD

USD Bestows Top Awards to Faculty Members

Friday, February 4, 2011

University of San Diego President Mary E. Lyons has announced the 2011-12 recipients of University Professorships, the highest academic honor bestowed university-wide to faculty members, as well as USD faculty awards for the Steber Professors, Herzog Endowed Scholar and Class of 1975 Endowed Professorship.

University Professorships, which recognize outstanding scholarly achievement in teaching and research, were given to Dr. Phillip Hunsaker (pictured), professor of management, School of Business Administration; Dr. Judith Liu , professor of Sociology, College of Arts and Sciences; Michael Ramsey , professor, School of Law; Dr. Patricia Roth (pictured) professor, Hahn School of Nursing and Health Science; and Dr. Sally Yard, professor of Art History, College of Arts and Sciences.

The two Steber Professor award recipients are Dr. Charles Teplitz, professor of decision sciences in the School of Business Administration and Dr. Karma Lekshe Tsomo, associate professor in the Department of Theology and Religious Studies. This award is annually presented to a faculty member in the SBA and Theology and Religious Studies per request of the donor, Clarence L. Steber. The award recognizes substantial contributions in the areas of teaching, research and service.

Two awards given only to School of Law professors, the Herzog Endowed Scholar award and the Class of 1975 Endowed Professorship, went to Dr. Laurence Claus and Steven Smith, respectively. The Herzog Endowed Scholar recognizes meritorious teaching and scholarly productivity of a law professor. The Class of 1975 award, which was a 25-year reunion gift from the Class of 1975, recognizes meritorious teaching, leadership and academic accomplishment.

“We can all take great pride and joy in the contributions of these nine faculty to their disciplines and to the University of San Diego, and we are delighted that their outstanding achievements are being recognized with these prestigious awards,” Lyons said.

The awards will be formally bestowed at the University of San Diego’s annual Fall Convocation ceremony on Sept. 2.

— Inside USD staff

  • Share/Bookmark