Holiday Schedule

Yes

The University observes a total of twelve (12) holidays (not including the Christmas Break) during the fiscal year. The holidays for the 2016-2017 and 2015-2016 fiscal years are listed below:

Fiscal Year 2016-2017 Holiday Schedule

Independence Day Monday July 4, 2016
Labor Day Monday September 5, 2016
Thanksgiving Day Thursday November 24, 2016
Friday after Thanksgiving Friday November 25, 2016
Christmas Eve Friday December 23, 2016
Christmas Day Monday December 26, 2016
Christmas Break Tue- Thurs December 27-29, 2016
New Year's Eve Friday December 30, 2016
New Year's Day Monday January 2, 2017
Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Birthday Monday January 16, 2017
Good Friday Friday April 14, 2017
Memorial Day Monday May 29, 2017
Floating Holiday   Not Designated

Fiscal Year 2015-2016 Holiday Schedule

Independence Day Friday July 3, 2015
Labor Day Monday September 7, 2015
Thanksgiving Day Thursday November 26, 2015
Friday after Thanksgiving Friday November 27 2015
Christmas Eve Thursday December 24, 2015
Christmas Day Friday December 25, 2015
Christmas Break Mon-Wed December 28-30, 2015
New Year's Eve Thursday December 31, 2015
New Year's Day Friday January 1, 2016
Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Birthday Monday January 18, 2016
Good Friday Friday March 25, 2016
Memorial Day Monday May 30, 2016
Floating Holiday   Not Designated


The floating holiday must be used by June 30th of each fiscal year. The floating holiday should be scheduled so as not to impact the operation of the university or to close an entire department on an otherwise normal business day . The requested date to take a floating holiday is at the discretion of the department head to ensure adequate office coverage; however, managers should make every effort to ensure all employees are able to take the floating holiday. Departments will track and report the usage of the floating holiday for employees and, if applicable, assure it is properly reported on the employee’s time card.

Academic Holidays 2016-2017

Fall Semester Holiday October 21, 2016
Spring Break March 6-10, 2017
Easter Holiday April 13-17, 2017

 

Academic Holidays 2015-2016

Fall Semester Holiday October 23, 2015
Spring/Easter Break Combined March 21-28, 2016


PLEASE NOTE: THERE ARE NO CLASSES DURING THE ACADEMIC HOLIDAYS; HOWEVER, ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICES WILL REMAIN OPEN UNLESS OTHERWISE NOTED.

Contact Information

Human Resources
Maher Hall 101
5998 Alcalá Park
San Diego, CA 92110

Phone: (619) 260-4594
Fax: (619) 260-4630
hr@sandiego.edu

Office Hours

8:30 am – 5:00 pm (Monday – Friday)