Ron Caragher Named PFL Coach of the Year

Ron Caragher Named PFL Coach of the Year

USD Toreros -- Pioneer Football League officials announced Tuesday the winners of its postseason honors and the All-Pioneer Football League first and second teams. All selections were made by the league's coaches, who were not permitted to vote for their own players. San Diego and Drake each won a share of the 2011 PFL regular-season title. San Diego won its fourth PFL crown and first since the 2007 season. It is Drake's fifth league championship but first since the 2004 campaign.

San Diego head coach Ron Caragher, a finalist for the Eddie Robinson Award, was named the league's Coach of the Year; San Diego defensive lineman Blake Oliaro was the league's Defensive Player of the Year; and Drake quarterback Mike Piatkowski was named the league's Offensive Player of the Year. The league's freshman awards went to San Diego wide receiver Brandon White and Drake linebacker Travis Merritt, who were named the league's Offensive and Defensive Freshman of the Year, respectively. (Full Story

Contact Information

Degheri Alumni Center 228
5998 Alcalá Park
San Diego, CA 92110

Phone: (619) 260-4724
Fax: (619) 260-4790

Click to see map to Degheri Alumni Center 228
Building Location on Campus Map

View Map and Building Location