Shiley-Marcos School of Engineering

Drop Shadow

Tau Beta Pi - Chapter California Alpha Epsilon

Tau Beta Pi, founded in 1885, is the oldest of the engineering honor societies and the second oldest greek letter honor society. Its mission is to mark in a fitting manner those who have conferred honor upon their alma mater by distinguished scholarship and exemplary character as undergraduates in the field of engineering, or by their attainments as alumni in the field of engineering, and to foster a spirit of liberal culture in the engineering colleges. USD’s chapter of Tau Beta Pi, CA Alpha Epsilon, was installed on February 25, 2012. Undergraduates at USD in all three engineering majors are academically eligible for selection as members if they are in the upper one-eighth of juniors or the upper one-fifth of seniors in engineering. In addition to academic requirements, candidates for Tau Beta Pi membership must be evaluated for exemplary character and must complete a service project prior to their election by the student chapter members. 


Chief Advisor: Dr. Kathleen Kramer, Director of Engineering Programs
Advisory Board Members: Dr. Susan Lord, Dr. David Malicky, Dr. Michael Morse, and Dr. Rick Olson

Additional information may be obtained from the Chapter Advisor.

Tau Beta Pi Officers 2014-2015

Officer Name  

Sam Honch

V. President Brendan Gee and Hannah Holopoff  
Recording Secretary Jessica Urbano  
Corresponding Secretary Kathleen McGuire  
Treasurer Philipp Storch  

Elected Board Of Advisors for the Chapter

Dr. Kathleen Kramer Professor of Electrical Engineering
Dr. Susan Lord Professor of Electrical Engineering
Dr. Michael Morse Professor of Electrical Engineering
Dr. Rick Olson Associate Professor of Industrial & Systems Engineering
Dr. David Malicky Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering