USD Engineering Student Blake Oliaro honored as Defensive Player of The Year

Pioneer Football League -- Pioneer Football League officials announced Tuesday the winners of its postseason honors and the All-Pioneer Football League first and second teams. All selections were made by the league’s coaches, who were not permitted to vote for their own players.

Drake and San Diego each won a share of the 2011 PFL regular-season title. It is Drake’s fifth league championship but first since the 2004 campaign. San Diego won its fourth PFL crown and first since the 2007 season. 

Drake quarterback Mike Piatkowski was named the league’s Offensive Player of the Year, San Diego defensive lineman Blake Oliaro was the league’s Defensive Player of the Year and San Diego head coach Ron Caragher was named the league’s Coach of the Year. The league’s freshman awards went to San Diego wide receiver Brandon White and Drake linebacker Travis Merritt, who were named the league’s Offensive and Defensive Freshman of the Year, respectively. (Full Story