Changemaker Faculty Fellows

The following faculty members are recognized as Changemaker Faculty Fellows because of their passion for innovative pedagogy in their respective fields, for their scholarship, and their commitment to co-develop the USD Changemaker Campus. The Changemaker Faculty Fellows hope to advocate for collaboration among students, faculty, and community members at USD, to increase dialogue and spread awareness about what it means to be a Changemaker Campus.

2017-2018

Choi-Fitzpatrick Headshot

Austin Choi-Fitzpatrick

Assistant Professor

caustin@sandiego.edu
(619) 260-7948
Kroc Institute of Peace and Justice 124

Divya

Divya Sitaraman 

Assistant Professor

dsitaraman@sandiego.edu 
(619) 260-2937
Serra Hall 105

Carter

Christopher Carter

Assistant Professor

christophercarter@sandiego.edu 
(619) 260-4052
Maher Hall 256

Kate

Kate DeConinck

Adjunct Professor

kdeconinck@sandiego.edu 
(619) 260-4055
Maher Hall 289

Andrea

Andrea Flynn

Associate Professor

andreaflynn@sandiego.edu 
(619) 260-2377
Olin Hall 213

Rapp

Justine Rapp

Assistant Professor

jrapp@sandiego.edu 
(619) 260-2989
Olin Hall 106

Lyon

Sarah Lyon

Assistant Professor

slyon@sandiego.edu 
(619) 260-4849
Olin Hall 206

Newman

Christopher Newman

Associate Professor

cnewman@sandiego.edu 
(619) 260-8896
Mother Rosalie Hill Hall 275D

Lam

Marcus Lam

Assistant Professor

mlam@sandiego.edu 
(619) 260-4600 ext. 4366
Mother Rosalie Hill Hall 275B

Fry-Bowers

Eileen Fry-Bowers

Associate Professor

efrybowers@sandiego.edu 
(619) 260-2964
Hahn School of Nursing 216

Mejia

Joel Alejandro (Alex) Mejia

Assistant Professor

jmejia@sandiego.edu 
(619) 260-7668
Guadalupe Hall 108

Goldfaden

Michael Goldfaden

Adjunct Professor

mgoldfaden@sandiego.edu 

201-618-5392

2016-2017

Emilie Amrein

Emilie Amrein

Assistant Professor, Choral Studies

amrein@sandiego.edu
(619) 260-4111
Camino Hall 144A

Austin Choi-Fitzpatrick

Austin Choi-Fitzpatrick

Assistant Professor

caustin@sandiego.edu
(619) 260-7948
Kroc Institute of Peace and Justice 124

Andrea Godfrey Flynn

Andrea Godfrey Flynn

Associate Professor of Marketing

andreaflynn@sandiego.edu
(619) 260-2377
Olin Hall 107

Gordon Hoople

Gordon Hoople

Assistant Professor, General Engineering

ghoople@sandiego.edu
(619) 260-2753

Aarti Ivanic

Aarti Ivanic

Assistant Professor of Marketing

ivanic@sandiego.edu
(619) 260-4868
Olin Hall 239

Lisa Nunn

Lisa Nunn

Associate Professor, Sociology

lnunn@sandiego.edu
(619) 260-7427
Serra Hall 220

Mary Sue Lowery

Mary Sue Lowery

Professor, Biology

slowery@sandiego.edu
(619) 260-4028
Shiley Center 482

Reyes Quezada

Reyes Quezada

Professor, Learning and Teaching

rquezada@sandiego.edu
(619) 260-47453
Mother Rosalie Hill Hall 247

2015-2016

Leeva Chung

Leeva Chung

Professor

leeva@sandiego.edu
(619) 260-5966
Camino Hall 126F


Dr. Chung is a distinguished Changemaker faculty champion through her work establishing the San Diego Asian Film Festival and pairing her students with real-life situations that impact the greater community.

Learn more about Dr. Chung's changemaking work, or read her full bio.

Kokila Doshi

Kokila Doshi

Professor of Economics

kdoshi@sandiego.edu
(619) 260-4843
Olin Hall 110


Professor Doshi strives to be a Changemaker by proposing ways in which corporations can step in and scale their innovations to reach and enrich underserved populations at the base of the pyramid. 

Learn more about Dr. Doshi's changemaking work, or read her full bio.

Frank Jacobitz

Frank Jacobitz

Professor, Mechanical Engineering

jacobitz@sandiego.edu
(619) 260-7820
Loma Hall 325


To Mechanical Engineering Professor Frank Jacobitz, changemaking is much more than a one-way interaction. For him, feedback from the receiving end of change is crucial for the overall success of a project. 

Learn more about Dr. Jacobitz's changemaking work, or read his full bio.

Ian Martin

Ian Martin

Associate Professor

imartin@sandiego.edu
(619) 260-7612
Mother Rosalie Hill Hall 229


By teaching both future and current counselors innovative lessons and curriculum, Dr. Martin is building a changemaking mentality through all students of his lessons.

Learn more about Dr. Martin's changemaking work, or read his full bio.

Jesse Mills

Jesse Mills

Chair and Associate Professor, Ethnic Studies

jessemills@sandiego.edu
(619) 260-7740
Maher Hall 204


Professor Mills believes that for change to be successful, it must start from the bottom, stay grounded in the bottom, and work its way up. 

Learn more about Dr. Mills's changemaking work, or read his full bio.

Jesse Mills

Jennifer Mueller

Associate Professor of Management

jmueller@sandiego.edu
(619) 260-4861
Olin Hall 114


In Professor Mueller’s view, the mentality of accepting a redefinition of creativity can be most beneficial for businesses because situations involving problem solving and creative idea construction occur often in the business environment.

Learn more about Dr. Mueller's changemaking work, or read her full bio.

Necla Tschirgi

Necla Tschirgi

Associate Professor of Practice, Human Security, and Peacebuilding

neclatschirgi@sandiego.edu
(619) 260-7912
Kroc Inst for Peace & Justice 125


At the Kroc School, students enrolled in Professor Tschirgi’s classes not only learn about global problems, but also they are encouraged to question their own society and seek out ways they can make a difference in their community and beyond.

Learn more about Dr. Tschirgi's changemaking work, or read her full bio.