Bookmark and Share

Marine Science Graduate Program

Current Graduate Students

antartica

Anthony Basilio

E-mail: abasilio@sandiego.edu
Thesis Chair: Steve Searcy, Professor USD
Thesis Title: Settlement of larval Spotted Sand Bass (Paralabrax maculatofasciatus) within Mission Bay in relation to oceanographic conditions

Stephen Campbell

E-mail: stephencampbell@sandiego.edu
Thesis Chair: Sarah Gray, Professor USD
Thesis Title: Watershed-marine linkages and the roles of terrigenous runoff and resuspension on turbidity and sediment deposition in St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands

Danielle Carter

E-mail: dcarter@sandiego.edu
Thesis Chair: Drew Talley, Professor USD
Thesis Title: Effects of shore drift on island food webs in Bahia de los Angeles, Baja California, Mexico

Dustin Chen

E-mail: dustinchen@sandiego.edu
Thesis Chair: Andrew Thompson, Southwest Fisheries Science Center
Thesis Title: Assemblage dynamics of larval Rockfishes (Sebastes spp.) in association with the Cowcod Conservation Areas

Branda Cook

E-mail: bcook@sandiego.edu
Thesis Chair: Hugh Ellis, Professor USD
Thesis Title: Oxygen stores in diving Eared Grebes (Podiceps nigricollis)

Thais Fournier

E-mail: tfournier@sandiego.edu
Thesis Chair: Drew Talley, Professor USD
Thesis Title: Long term changes in a spatially subsidized insular ecosystem in the archipelago of Bahia de los Angeles, Mexico

Dani Garcia

E-mail: dgarcia-09@sandiego.edu
Thesis Chair: Sue Lowery, Ronald Kaufmann, Professors USD
Thesis Title: The effects of free-drifting icebergs on the physiological condition of Antarctic krill (Euphausia superba)

Catharine Hargenrader

E-mail: chargenrader@sandiego.edu
Thesis Chair: Nathalie Reyns, Professor USD
Thesis Title: The relationship between larval supply, larval settlement, and adult populations of barnacle species within the La Jolla, California rocky intertidal

Noah Jansen-Yee

E-mail: noahjansen-yee@sandiego.edu
Thesis Chair: Jeff Crooks, Tijuana River National Estuarine Research Reserve
Thesis Title: Crassostrea gigas invasion in Southern California: macrofaunal diversity and local community impacts of ecosystem engineers on estuarine habitats

Elizabeth Johnston

E-mail: elizabethjohnston@sandiego.edu
Thesis Chair: Beth O'Shea, Professor USD
Thesis Title:

Brian Juhl

E-mail: juhlb@sandiego.edu
Thesis Chair: Ron Kaufmann, Professor USD
Thesis Title: The impact of copper on non-indigenous and native speces of suspension-feeding bivalves in Mission Bay, San Diego, CA

Josh Linck

E-mail: jlinck@sandiego.edu
Thesis Chair:
Thesis Title:

Juliette Nash:

E-mail: julietten-11@sandiego.edu
Thesis Chair: Ann Bowles, Hubbs-SeaWorld Research Institute
Thesis Title: Vocal learning in Killer Whales: Effects of developmental stage and social affiliation.

Samantha San Francisco

E-mail: sanfranciscosm@sandiego.edu
Thesis Chair: Hugh Ellis, Professor USD
Thesis Title: Time-activity budgets of the Eared Grebe (Podiceps nigricollis) at their post-breeding and post-wintering grounds

Rebecca Schwartz

E-mail: rebeccas@sandiego.edu
Thesis Chair: Drew Talley, Professor USD
Thesis Title: Examining evidence for change in size distribution and species composition of fishes
from Bahia de los Angeles, Mexico since the mid-20th century using historical photographs

Laura Schwebel

E-mail: lschwebel@sandiego.edu
Thesis Chair: Sue Lowery, Professor USD
Thesis Title: The effect of swimming speed on growth, metabolism, and gene expression of California Yellowtail, S. lalandi

Whitney Sears

E-mail: whitneysears@sandiego.edu
Thesis Chair: Sarah Gray, Professor USD
Thesis Title: Factors affecting terrigenous sedimentation in coastal bays with coral reefs: Implications fo monitoring the effectiveness of watershed restoration

Joy Shapiro

E-mail: joys@sandiego.edu
Thesis Chair: Ronald S. Kaufmann, Professor USD
Thesis Title: Zooplankton distribution in relation to oceanographic parameters on diel time scales in Mission Bay, San Diego, California

Megan Slack

E-mail: meganslack@sandiego.edu
Thesis Chair: Anne Bowles, Hubbs-SeaWorld Research Institute
Thesis Title: Bubble stream production during vocalization in Belugas (Delphinapterus leucas)

Elizabeth Smith

E-mail: smithe@sandiego.edu
Thesis Chair: Mark Drawbridge, Hubbs-SeaWorld Research Institute
Thesis Title: Spawning dynamics in a captive population of California Yellowtail (Seriola lalandi) through one season

Daniel Wrobleski

E-mail: dwrobleski@sandiego.edu
Thesis Chair: Mark Drawbridge, Hubbs-SeaWorld Research Institute
Thesis Title: Effects of dietary inclusion of Spirulina (Arthrospira platensis) on the growth performance, body composition and hematology of juvenile white seabass (Atractoscion nobilis) and California Yellowtail (Seriola Ialandi)