Bookmark and Share

Master of Arts in International Relations

Calendar of Events for the MAIR Program: Fall 2014

Monday, September 1, 530 to 800, Roundtable on Resource Competition, USD- Army War College Project, IPJ 253.

Tuesday, September 2, 400 to 520, Orientation for New Students, IPJ 253.

Tuesday, September 2, 530 to 650, Planning Session for NATO/European Security Seminar, IPJ 253.

Wednesday, September 3, 400 to 600, Reception and Welcome to all Graduate Students in the College of Arts and Sciences, IPJ Garden of the Sea. 

Monday, September 15, Deadline for Commitment to Washington DC Seminar in January 2015 on US Foreign Policy with Dr. David Shirk.

Wednesday, September 17, 400 to 520, Dr. Bruce Newsome, "The UK and New Challenges to NATO," IPJ 253.

Thursday, September 18, 530 to 650, Dr. Michael Pfau, "Germany, Russia, and European Security," IPJ 253.

Tuesday, September 30, Deadline for Commitment to Monterey Seminar in March 2015 on Pakistani Politics and Security with General Feroz Khan. 

Thursday, October 2, 1215 to 200, Panel on German Unification, IPJ 253.

Thursday, October 9, 1215, Music by Bach, Meeting of Each and West Germany, directed by Dr. Marianne Pfau, (5 dollars for students,) French Parlour, Founders Hall.

Tuesday, October 14, 1230 to 145, Dr. John Stoessinger, "From Holocaust to Harvard," Book Presentation, MRH Warren Auditorium.

Tuesday, October 14, 700 to 830, Women Peacemakers Panel, IPJ Auditorium. 

Thursday, October 16, 530 to 630, Dr. Necla Tshirgi, "Turkey and New Challenges in the Middle East," IPJ 253.

Friday, October 31, Deadline for Commitment to India Travel Seminar in June/July 2015 with Dr. Nadkarni.

Friday, November 7, Law School Energy Symposium, 800 to 630, see EPIC for registration information (20 dollars for students), School of Law. 

Monday, November 10, Panel on the Fall of the Berlin Wall 25 Years Later, with Dr. Michael Pfau as coordinator, the German embassy as sponsor.  IPJ Auditorium for Panel and Garden of the Sea Reception.  Times TBA.

Friday, November 14, Deadline for sufficient interest in January intersession courses on Mexico and Japan. 

Saturday, November 15, a Night at the Theater, Shakespeares Pericles performed by the MFA/Old Globe.  Tentatively 630 backstage tour, 800 performance, reception after the show, free of charge for College of Arts Graduate Students, but  RSVP deadline Thursday October 30 to Susan at szakonyi@sandiego.edu.

Wednesday through Friday, December 3 to 5, Capstone Presentations by Graduating MAIR Students, Times TBA, MRH Executive Conference Room 102.

Tuesday, December 9, 730 pm, Gamelan Concert, Music from Bali, co-directed by Dr. Karnish, (5 dollars for students), Shiley Theater. 

For additional information, contact Dr. Randy Willoughby at rwilloug@sandiego.edu.