Bookmark and Share

Department of

Communication Studies


The Communication Studies minor complements any major field of study. Students in the minor will study effective communication strategies and meaning making in a variety of contexts. Writing, critical thinking, public speaking, and cultural competence are emphasized. The minor requires 18 units.

The communication studies minor consists of 6 lower division units and 12 upper division units to be selected in consultation with an advisor.

Required Lower Division Core (6 units)

COMM 101 and either 130, 203, or 220

Required Upper Division Core (3 units)

Select from COMM 300 or 336

Upper Division Electives (9 units)

Select from any upper division communication course.