Bookmark and Share

Department of

Chemistry and Biochemistry

Adjunct Faculty

Separator

Fabio Agnelli

Fabio Agnelli, PhD

Adjunct Assistant Professor
fabioa@sandiego.edu
(619) 260-4133

Office: SCST379

Farhad Assaderaghi

Farhad Assaderaghi

Adjunct Assistant Professor
farhada@sandiego.edu
(619) 260-2180

Office: SCST376

Sarah Axford

Sarah Axford

Adjunct Assistant Professor
saxford@sandiego.edu
(619) 260-4266

Office: SCST376

Ian Ball

Ian Ball, PhD

Adjunct Assistant Professor
ijball@sandiego.edu
(619) 260-7972

Office: SCST376

Ian Ball, PhD, began working at USD in the Fall of 2007, after being the supervising instructor for freshman chemistry laboratory at UCSD for six years. Currently, his primary teaching responsibilities encompass both semesters of the lecture and lab components of Freshman Chemistry (Chem 151/151L & 152/152L), and both the lecture-only and lecture-and-lab chemistry courses for non-majors (Chem 101 & 111).

> More Information

No photo available

Kathryn Burke, PhD

Adjunct Assistant Professor
kdburke@sandiego.edu
(619) 260-4247

Office: SCST335

Karen Chiang

Karen Chiang, PhD

Adjunct Assistant Professor
karenchiang@sandiego.edu
(619) 260-2246

Office: SCST440

Margaret Daley

Margaret Daley, PhD

Adjunct Assistant Professor
mdaley@sandiego.edu
(619) 260-4781

Office: SCST440

Margaret Daley, PhD, joined the department in 2007.  She likes to share her enthusiasm for chemistry in upper-division laboratory courses, General Chemistry lecture and lab, and in classes for non-science majors.

> More Information

Debbie M. Finocchio

Debbie M. Finocchio

Director, General Chemistry
debbief@sandiego.edu
(619) 260-2276

Office: SCST381

Debbie Finocchio '88 began working at USD in 1992.  She has held positions of adjunct professor and laboratory coordinator, and is currently director of general chemistry. She writes the laboratory manuals for general chemistry laboratory courses, has overseen operations for general chemistry laboratory for many years, and played a key role in designing general chemistry laboratory spaces for the Donald P. Shiley Center for Science and Technology.

> More Information

Kelli Khuong

Kelli Khuong, PhD

Director, Organic Chemistry
khuong@sandiego.edu
(619) 260-7971

Office: SCST440

Kelli Khuong, PhD,  joined the department in August 2005. Her primary responsibilities are teaching in the organic sequence and coordinating the organic labs.

> More Information

No photo available

Tinh-Alfredo Khuong, PhD

Adjunct Assistant Professor
tkhuong@sandiegoe.edu
(619) 260-7601

Office: SCST251

No photo available

Joachim L├Ątzer, PhD

Adjunct Assistant Professor
latzer@sandiego.edu
(619) 260-4670

Office: SCST379

Jonathan Lockner

Jonathan Lockner, PhD

Adjunct Assistant Professor
lockner@sandiego.edu
(619) 260-7601

Office: SCST251

Jonathan Lockner, PhD, joined the department in 2013. He teaches laboratory courses for both general and organic chemistry. Dr. Lockner is an Illinois native, but since 2003 has been a resident of San Diego. He holds a PhD in organic chemistry from The Scripps Research Institute, and also spent five years working in the pharmaceutical industry.

> More Information

No photo available

Kathryn McGarry, PhD

Post Doctoral Fellow
kamcgarry@sandiego.edu
(619) 260-4247

Office: SCST335

No photo available

Matt Parker, PhD

Adjunct Assistant Professor
mparker@sandiego.edu
(619) 260-7601

Office: SCST251

Office Hours:

Julia Schafer

Julia Schafer, PhD

Adjunct Assistant Professor
jschafer@sandiego.edu
(619) 260-8871

Office: SCST440

Dr. Schafer joined the department in Fall 2005.  Dr. Schafer teaches general chemistry and analytical chemistry as well as an occasional upper-division chemistry lab course. Her research interest includes development of a portable heavy metal sensor using sol-gel monoliths doped with fluorescent nano-particles. Dr. Schafer is currently serving as the coordinator for a university wide program for summer research students.

> More Information

Arijit Sengupta

Arijit Sengupta, PhD

Post Doctoral Fellow
asengupta@sandiego.edu
(619) 260-4600 x6771

Office: SCST351

Fangyuan Tian

Fangyuan Tian, PhD

Post Doctoral Fellow
tianfy@sandiego.edu
(619) 260-8970

Office: SCST335

No photo available

Melanie Zauscher, PhD

Post Doctoral Fellow
mzauscher@sandiego.edu
(619) 260-2246

Office: SCST335