The Supply Chain Management Institute, directed by Joel Sutherland, was created in 1999 and today has a rightly deserved reputation for supporting the development of exceptional professionals who are sought after by industry and the public sector alike.

The SCMI Advisory Board consists of senior executives of firms recognized as being on the leading edge of their respective industries and fields.

USD’s MS-SCM is one of the leading programs in the world, possessing both Institute of Supply Management (ISM) approval and Chartered Institute of Purchasing and Supply (CIPS) accreditation.

SCMI disseminates its insights and best practices through graduate web-based programs, residence programs, executive education, and semi-annual forums.


View the Summer 2014 newsletter

Advisory Board

Joel Sutherland
Managing Director
Supply Chain Management Institute
University of San Diego

Luke Abbott
Monterrey-The Natural Choice

Jimmy Anklesaria
President & CEO
Anklesaria Group

Debbie Avila
Director, Supply Management
Southern California Edison

Kelly Breitenbecher
Sr. Vice President, CIO
Petco Animal Supplies, Inc.

Rosemary Coates
Founder & President
Blue Silk Consulting

Eric Cohen
Vice President
Waxie Sanitary Supply

Cathie Deal
Supply Chain
ViaSat, Inc.

Tom Derry
Institute for Supply Management

Carrie Ericson
Vice President
AT Kearney Procurement & Analytic Solutions

Tim Fischer
Sr. Vice President
Supply Chain
Bumble Bee Foods

Dean Gordon
Vice President 
Supply Chain Services
Jack in the Box

Keith Higashi
Procurement System Integrity Manager
General Atomics Aeronautical

James Hill
Sr. Vice President
Integrated Supply Chain Operations
Targus Group International

Sandra Hrna
Supply Management and Supplier Diversity
Sempra Energy Utilities

Steve Kewley
Global Supply Chain
Solar Turbines, A Caterpillar Company

Mark Mealy
Client Solutions
UTi Integrated Logistics

Angel Mendez
Sr. Vice President
Cisco Transformation
Cisco Systems, Inc.

José Muñoz-Gonzalez
Vice President
Supply Chain and Operational Excellence

Kevin Nohelty
Vice President
Supply Chain
WD-40 Company

Tom Olesen
Chief Supply Chain Officer
Bonneville Power Administration

Mark Palamar
Senior Director

Lisa Shambro
Founder, Executive Director
Foundation for Strategic Sourcing

Jim Smith
Sector Global Supply Chain Operations
Northrop Grumman Corporation

Maria Thompson
Agile Sourcing Partners, Inc.

David Wilson
Vice President
Distribution & Logistics
HD Supply