College of Arts and Sciences

Website Redesign (September 2014 - February 2016)

Design

cas responsive

 

A responsive design which allows site visitors to access information anywhere at any time.

cas directory

 

A new faculty directory with filtering, search, and larger photos for learning about the award-winning faculty at the university.

cas news and events

 

A new news and events center for better showcasing the accomplishments and opportunities available at the College.

cas scholarship listing

 

A new scholarship listing showing all available scholarships at the university.

cas study abroad

 

A study abroad program selector that feeds global opportunities directly from the university's International Center database.

cas social media

 

A social media hub powered by TwineSocial to aggregate the school's content from Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and other social media platforms.

Project Updates

Date Milestone Updates
04/13/15 Website Kick-Off

The USD web team convened the core CAS advisory board for the first time in the project and presented research and discovery findings from the fall and intersession semesters. Surveys, department meetings, and a competitive analysis of websites from our peer and aspirational schools were conducted and discussed.

See the CAS Website Kick-Off presentation (PDF)

The following supplementary materials are also available:

05/06/15 Site Structure and Style Tile

The USD web team reviewed information about the new website's information architecture (i.e. navigation structure) with the CAS advisory board along with a design preview for the new website in the form of style tiles. 

See the CAS Content Structure and Design Elements presentation (PDF)

11/11/15 Usability Results and Design Reveal

The USD web team presented the results of the summer usability studies on the new CAS website design, which included in-person and survey-based feedback with nearly 1,000 prospective students, current students, and/or their parents. The team also reviewed new design components and functionality planned for the new website.

See the CAS  Usability Results and Design Reveal presentation (PDF)

02/18/16 Website Launch

Late evening

Advisory Board

Name Title Contact Information
Valerie Attisha Development vattisha@sandiego.edu
ext. 6890
Joy Brunetti Co-Project Manager brunetti@sandiego.edu
ext. 7633
Erik Fritsvold Sociology erikf@sandiego.edu
ext. 4026
Nadav Goldschmied Psychological Sciences ngoldschmied@sandiego.edu
ext. 7681
Leslie Hammann Co-Project Manager lhammann@sandiego.edu
ext. 7446
Curtis Loer Biology cloer@sandiego.edu
ext. 4129
Tess Nunn Dean's Office/Living-Learning Communities tess@sandiego.edu
ext. 7613
Michael O'Brien Advisor michaelo@sandiego.edu
ext. 4641
Lukasz Pruski Mathematics and Computer Science pruski@sandiego.edu
ext. 4035
Debbie Tahmassebi Dean's Office/Chemistry and Biochemistry debbiet@sandiego.edu
ext. 7454
Joe Yorty Art, Architecture, and Art History josephyorty@sandiego.edu
ext. 2704
Mary Zetts Languages and Literatures zetts@sandiego.edu
ext. 4070
Matt Zwolinski Philosophy mzwolinski@sandiego.edu
ext. 4094