The University of San Diego is governed by a Board of Trustees and led by a president. James T. Harris III, DEd, who was appointed in 2015, is the fourth chief executive since the modern University of San Diego was established in 1972. His predecessors were Author E. Hughes, who served as president from 1972 to 1995, Alice B. Hayes, who was president from 1995 to 2003 and Mary E. Lyons, who held the role from 2003 to 2015.

The university is dedicated to providing a values-based education grounded in Catholic social teachings. Today, it has seven academic divisions: the College of Arts and Sciences, the School of Law, the School of Business Administration, the School of Leadership and Education Sciences, the Hahn School of Nursing and Health Science, the Shiley-Marcos School of Engineering, and the Joan B. Kroc School of Peace Studies. USD offers 42 bachelor's degree programs, 39 master's degrees programs, six law degree programs, and three doctoral degree programs (in nursing and leadership studies).

Interim Provost Andrew Allen

Andrew T. Allen, PhD
Vice President and Provost

Msgr. Dillabough

Msgr. Daniel J. Dillabough
Vice President, Mission and Ministry

Terry Kalfayan

Terry Kalfayan, CPA
Vice President, Finance and Chief Financial Officer

Tim O'Malley

Timothy L. O'Malley, PhD
Vice President, University Relations

No Headshot

Ky Snyder
Vice President, Athletics and Facilities

Carmen Vazquez

Carmen M. Vazquez
Vice President, Student Affairs